LibGuides: Citing Sources: Reference Sources- MLA

Overview - Why use encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias and general/background sources are excellent for gathering information at the beginning of the research cycle. Background sources are any sources that provide a broad overview of a topic including but not limited to encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases. They can provide important dates and names. They can also provide alternate terms and related issues to help a researcher better understand the scope of a topic. Background sources can help a researcher develop a set of keywords and phrases and key ideas which will help with further searches.

Sources:

This LibGuide is based on the MLA Citations LibGuide created by Montgomery College Libraries. The content and format are used with permission.

The MLA Formatting Style Guide by OWL at Purdue was also used with permission.

General Information

NoodleTools will help you correctly format your citations for the Works Cited list. The following information is basic information you should remember when working with encyclopedias and dictionaries.

Encyclopedias: For entries from commonly-used encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works, cite the piece as you would any other work in a collection but do not include the publisher information. If the book is organized alphabetically, do not list the volume or the page number of the article or item. Provide the full citation, including volume number, for more specialized reference books.
Abbreviating Months: When you include the month in the publication date or date of access, abbreviate to the first three letters (e.g., Dec.). May, June, & July do not need abbreviations.
For more than 3 authors:Provide only the first author, followed by et al. For example: Wingert, Peter, et al.
Capitalize the main words in the document title. If there is a colon in the title (a subtitle), capitalize the main words after the colon.

Creating a Works Cited Entry for Encyclopedia or Reference Work

MLA Works Cited Page: Books
NoodleTools will help you create a citation for different types of reference formats. For more information, please review MLA Works Cited Page: Books by OWL at Purdue. The information regarding reference sources is close to the bottom of the page.

In-Text Citations - Electronic Sources with No Page Numbers

If there are no page numbers on the electronic source, use only the author name or the first main word of the title.

Format

Signal phrase, "quote" (Author).

Signal phrase, "quote" ("Entry Title").

Example

According to a study, "Twins reared apart report similar feelings" (Palfrey).

Osmosis is defined as, "the process of gradual or unconscious assimilation of ideas' ("Osmosis")

How to Create a Works Cited Entry for a Reference Source Using NoodleTools

MLA Checklist - Quick Guide for Printing

MLA Checklist

MLA Videos created by Memorial Univeristy

Citing Sources in MLA: A Basic Introduction This video explains how to cite your sources in the text of your research paper, according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, including: in-text quotations (0:35), block quotes (1:15), no page number (1:55), no author (2:13).
How to Cite Multiple Authors in MLA Style This video explains what do with works by more than one author or editor, both in your Works Cited List and in the text of your paper, including when to use "et al." It's based on the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
What to do with a "Citation Within a Citation" in MLA Style This video explains what do with a citation within the material you are quoting from, or a "source within a source", both in your text and in your Works Cited List (1:23), according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.
MLA Style Works Cited List: Citing Books This video explains how to include print books (0:34) in your Works Cited list, according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook, including edited books (2:08), translated books (2:43), edition numbers (3:00), individual essays/chapters (3:18), and where to find the information you need for your citation (1:15).
MLA Style Works Cited List: Citing eBooks This video explains how to include ebooks in your Works Cited List, according to the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers and where to find the information you need for your citation (2:07).

Used with permission.

For more information on MLA from OWL at Purdue

OWL at Putdue so one of the best sources of information on citing. Please review the following material if more information is required.

Citation Tools

NoodleTools
NoodleTools supports the research process with a platform of integrated tools for note-taking, outlining, citation, document archiving/annotation, and collaborative research and writing. You must create your own username and password using the school account. For school account information please see St. Paul's Community.

Citing Sources: Reference Sources- MLA