Exhibit Guide
For nearly 70 of its 90 years of football history, St. Paul's had an intramural league as well as a competitive team. Click the arrows to the left and right to see photos of our intramural teams through the years.
The 1958 senior intramural football champions. St. Paul's High School Archive.
Intramurals gave St. Paul's youngest students the chance to play. Many used it as a chance to train for the competitive team.
Junior Intramural Giants Team, 1957. St. Paul's High School Archive.
Intramurals allowed many more students to participate in football. In its 1958 yearbook, St. Paul's boasted 175 total football players.
Aerial photo of football players, 1958. St. Paul's High School Archive.
Many students took their intramural activities seriously, training after school and on the weekends.
Intramural football players training out of uniform, 1970s. St. Paul's High School Archive.
Intramural players in the snow, 1972. St. Paul's High School Archive.
Intramural teams were coached by faculty members, often leading to friendly rivalries between teachers.
Intramural coaches emotionally watching their teams, 1975. St. Paul's High School Archive.
This student must have taken issue with the referee's decision!
1982. St. Paul's High School Archive.
1990s intramural team being coached. St. Paul's High School Archive.
Richard Grover's intramural football team, c.1990s. St. Paul's High School Archive.
In 2001, St. Paul's created a developmental team for younger players. Although intramural football continued for a few years after this change, the program eventually fizzled out.
2008 intramural football players. St. Paul's High School Archive.
Intramural were discontinued in the late '00s. However, with two teams in the same league in 2018, St. Paul's football players once again faced off against each other.
The Crusaders I and Crusaders II play against each other, 2018. St. Paul's High School Archive.