St. Paul's High School Archives: Welcome to St. Paul's Archives

The St. Paul's High School Archives collects, organizes, preserves and provides access to the historical records of St. Paul's High School.

These documents, memorabilia, and other materials promote an understanding of and appreciation for the history of the school and the individuals who laid its foundations and nurtured its development.

The materials are available for use by faculty, staff, students, alumni, and other interested researchers.

Please contact Samantha Eadie at sphsarchives@stpauls.mb.ca or seadie@stpauls.mb.ca to access the archives.

In your request, please try to be specific about what you need. You may make an appointment to use the archives for research or request a search be completed for specific information. We will try to accommodate your request within 2 weeks.

Materials collected reflect the programs, policy, organization, functions, and other activities related to the daily operations of St. Paul's High School. They include:

• School publications – The Crusader (alumni magazine), calendars
• Student publications – The Crusader (yearbook, started 1954), The Crusader (student newspaper)
• Photographs, slides, and photo negatives
• Audio and video recordings
• Artifacts
• Oral histories
• Scrapbooks
• Programs and Invitations
• Sports banners
• Posters

The early Jesuits kept early records related to the creation and day-to-day operation of the school. They also kept scrapbooks of activities and events at the school since the early 1930s.As these early leaders moved to other duties, these records were left in the care of the Jesuits who remained. These are the foundation of the Archives.

Father Connolly started organizing the Archives in 1989 in a room in the back of the library. Father Connolly left the school in 1983 after serving at the school since 1968 as the Director of Athletics. Father Connolly focused his efforts on organizing the history of the football program, of which he was an integral part. He also began acquiring school yearbooks and producing scrapbooks of pictures and newspaper clippings for an annual retrospective.

When Father Connolly left the school, the Archives were moved to a room under the tunnel leading toward Murray Hall. At this time, the Archive was the responsibility of the Advancement Office. Specifically, Jason Brennan continued to add to the collection.

The Archive's mandate was moved to the library in 2011 when it was taken over by former librarian, Jonine Bergen.

With the hiring of a professional archivist in 2018, the Archive was official moved under the President's Office.